India will represent the ICC Cricket World Cup as the top ODI team after defeating Australia in the second ODI
India will represent the ICC Cricket World Cup as the top ODI team after defeating Australia in the second ODI

Indian state of Madhya Pradesh, September 25 (ANI): India will enter the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 with momentum after to their emphatic victory over Australia in the second ODI at Indore.

India will enter the Cricket World Cup as the top-ranked team in the ICC Men’s ODI Team Rankings after to their victory in Indore. The Men in Blue needed at least two victories before the series began in order to enter the main event at home in first place.


India defeated Australia in the first ODI in Mohali to go to the top of the ODI rankings. After previously holding the top slot in Tests and T20Is, they will now continue to rule supremely throughout all forms as the top side.

Pakistan is ranked second with 115 rating points, while India is ranked first with 117 rating points. On the other side, Australia lost ground and now ranks third with 110 points.

A team has only ever reached the top spot in all forms once before in the history of men’s cricket. Only South Africa has previously accomplished this feat, back in August 2012.

India needed to win the second ODI to guarantee the continuation of their dominance at the top of the rankings, and they accomplished it admirably with a strong all-around effort.

India was given the opportunity to bat first by Australia in the game. The basis for anything significant was created with a 200-run stand for the second wicket between Shubman Gill (104 in 97 balls, 6 fours, 4 sixes) and Shreyas Iyer (105 in 90 balls, 11 fours, 3 sixes). India eventually reached 399/5 in 50 overs with to half-centuries from captain KL Rahul (52 in 38 balls, with three fours and three sixes), Suryakumar Yadav (72* in 37 balls, with six fours and six sixes), and Ishan Kishan (31 in 18 balls, with two fours and two sixes).

For Australia, Cameron Green claimed two wickets, but he also conceded 103 runs. Each of Adam Zampa, Sean Abbott, and Josh Hazlewood claimed a wicket.

Australia was dropped to 9/2 in the 400-meter chase, and the race was stopped by rain. The aim after the restart of play was 317 runs in 33 overs.

The innings was somewhat steadied by an 80-run partnership between David Warner (53 in 39 balls, seven fours, and a six) and Marnus Labuschagne (27). However, wickets continued to tumble after this, as the Australians fell to 140/8.

Josh Hazlewood (23) and Abbott (54 in 36 balls, four boundaries, and five sixes) put up a 77-run blistering combination that enthralled the crowd, but the Australians were bowled out for 217 in 28.2 overs, losing by 99 runs.

With a score of 3/41, Ravichandran Ashwin was India’s top bowler, while his spin partner Ravindra Jadeja finished with a score of 3/42. Mohammed Shami only took one wicket, compared against Prasidh Krishna’s two.

India leads the series 2-0 with one game remaining.

‘Player of the Match’ honour went to Shreyas Iyer for his century. (ANI)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here